Clemson is the No. 1 seed and will play No. 4 Alabama.

The Tigers enter as the defending champions after crushing Miami (Fla.) in the ACC title game. The Crimson Tide beat out Big Ten champion Ohio State for the final spot despite not winning its SEC division. Its the first time two teams from the same conference have been selected for the field.

Oklahoma is the No. 2 seed and will face No. 3 Georgia.

The Sooners and Bulldogs both clinched their spots with respective conference championship game victories in the Big 12 and SEC.

Clemson, Oklahoma and Alabama are all making repeat appearances in the field. The trio along with Ohio State have accounted for 11 of the 16 berths in the four years of the systems. This the first time Georgia has been selected.

Both of the semifinal games will be played on Jan. 1.

The winners will meet in the College Football Playoff championship game on Jan. 8 in Atlanta.