TALLAHASSEE, Fla. -- FEMA has announced three more Florida counties will be assisted financially to help cover disaster-related expenses and the repair or rebuilding of critical infrastructure.

Those three counties are Columbia, Gadsden, and Hernando counties. Which means the governments in these counties can now request assistance to help pay for debris removal, emergency protective measures, and to repair buildings.

Alachua, Baker, Citrus, Dixie, Franklin, Gilchrist, Jefferson, Lafayette, Leon, Levy, Liberty, Madison, Manatee, Marion, Pasco, Pinellas, Sarasota, Sumter, Suwannee, Taylor, Union and Wakulla counties were previously designated for FEMA Public Assistance funding.

“The additional federal funding is intended to help Florida’s hard-hit communities recover from the devastation left by Hurricane Hermine,” said Federal Coordinating Officer Terry L. Quarles.