The aftermath of Hurricane Irma has left many distraught and unsure of what to do next.

FEMA issued a major disaster declaration for several Florida and Georgia counties on September 10.

FEMA aims to to support citizens and first responders to ensure that as a nation we work together to build, sustain and improve our capability to prepare for, protect against, respond to, recover from and mitigate all hazards.

Survivors have a 60-day window from the disaster declaration to apply for assistance.

Below you will find the answers to frequently asked questions about FEMA and who is eligible.

Who's eligible?:

According to FEMA , any individuals and families in a declared area whose essential property has been damaged or destroyed and whose losses are not covered by insurance.

What you need to apply:

According to FEMA's website, you will need the following information and documents to complete the application, both online and over the phone.

  • Social Security number
  • Address of the location where the damage occured (pre-disaster address)
  • Current mailing address
  • Current telephone number
  • Insurance information
  • Total household annual income
  • Routing and account number for your checking or savings account (this allows FEMA to directly transfer disaster assistance funds into your bank account).
  • A description of your disaster-caused damage and losses

How do you apply?:

To apply for FEMA assistance you can go online to or you can call (800) 621-3362 / TTY (800) 462-7585 to apply during standard hours of operation (7 a.m. to 11 p.m. Eastern Time), 7 days a week.