JACKSONVILLE, Fla. -- The St. Johns River Ferry Commission will take ownership of the Ferry with a "Passing of the Keys" ceremony on September 30th.

After the Ferry makes its final crossing of that day, the Ferry Task Force will transfer the keys to City Council Vice President Bill Gulliford and Council Member, and Ferry Commission Chair, John Crescimbeni. They will accept the keys on behalf of the Commission and the City of Jacksonville.

"Instead of watching the Ferry make its last run forever in North Florida we will celebrate another chapter for the ferry as we look to securing a permanent future for the ferry service in North Florida", said Gulliford.

The new logo of the Ferry Commission will also be unveiled. It was created by Kurtis Loftis of The Kurtis Group.

"We're very excited about the future of the Ferry," said Elaine Brown, chair of the St. Johns River Ferry Task Force and a member of the Ferry Commission.

"A lot of people worked very hard to get us to this point, but there is still a lot of work to do. The Commission is energized and ready to do what it takes to secure the long-term success of the Ferry Service."

The seven-member Ferry Commission was created by the City Council to oversee the operation of the Ferry.

Hornblower Marine Services will continue to operate the Ferry.

Supporters and members of the task force plan to gather at Singleton's Sea Food Restaurant at 6:00 p.m. prior to the ceremony.

The "Transfer of the Keys" will begin at 8:45 p.m. at the Ferry landing on the Mayport side of the River.