WASHINGTON -- Florida Rep. Ander Crenshaw was appointed by House Speaker John Boehner to the Conference Committee on Continuing Resolution, which will work with the Senate to fund the government and defund the Affordable Care Act.

Crenshaw said, "The House has led, listening to the wishes of the American public, voting multiple times to fund government operations and stop Obamacare.

"But, Senate Democrats refused to even discuss House-passed bills to that effect - obstruction that has resulted in the government shutdown. It's not what Americans want or deserve. My commitment as a member of the Conference Committee is to resolve differences between the House and Senate viewpoints and determine the most effective path forward to a strong economy and fiscal peace of mind for all Americans."

The following members of Congress were named to the committee:

• Majority Leader Eric Cantor (R-VA)
• Rep. Chairman Dave Camp (R-MI), chairman of the House Ways & Means Committee
• Rep. Hal Rogers (R-KY), chairman of the House Appropriations Committee
• Rep. Paul Ryan (R-WI), chairman of the House Budget Committee
• Rep. John Carter (R-TX)
• Rep. Ander Crenshaw (R-FL)
• Rep. Rodney Frelinghuysen (R-NJ)
• Rep. Tom Graves (R-GA)