Daytona 500 start time, lineup

DAYTONA BEACH, Fla. -- It's race day for the 2013 Daytona 500 at Daytona International Speedway, and we've got some essential information you need to get ready for today's race.

START TIME: At 1:18 p.m. Eastern, actor James Franco will instruct drivers to start their engines. After a few pace laps, honorary starter Ray Lewis will wave the green flag at 1:30 p.m. to start the 55th running of the Daytona 500.

SAFETY SITUATION: A horrific crash on the final lap of the Nationwide Series race injured at least 28 people Saturday. Two fans previously listed in critical condition, including one child, were upgraded Sunday morning. Overnight, the section of catchfence that was breached was rebuilt, and fans will be back in that grandstand area.

RACE DISTANCE: The Daytona 500 is obviously 500 miles, which means it's 200 laps around the 2.5-mile Daytona International Speedway.

TV/RADIO SCHEDULE: Fox goes on air with its pre-race show at noon. The Motor Racing Network will broadcast it on the radio.

WEATHER: NASCAR's new "Air Titan" -- a track-drying system -- could debut today thanks to scattered showers forecast for the area. Temperatures are expected to peak in the low 70s.

LAST TIME: In a race remembered more for a jet dryer explosion and Brad Keselowski's in-car tweet, Matt Kenseth outlasted a rain delay to win his second Daytona 500.

STARTING LINEUP: Danica Patrick is the pole-sitter for today's race, marking the first time a woman has started from the pole position in a Sprint Cup Series race.

Here's the rest of the starting grid, from 1 to 43:

Danica Patrick
Jeff Gordon
Kevin Harvick
Kyle Busch
Greg Biffle
Kasey Kahne
Juan Pablo Montoya
Austin Dillon
Jimmie Johnson
Clint Bowyer
Kurt Busch
Matt Kenseth
Tony Stewart
Mark Martin
Brad Keselowski
Paul Menard
Casey Mears
Jeff Burton
Dale Earnhardt Jr.
Jamie McMurray
Joey Logano
David Ragan
Bobby Labonte
Marcos Ambrose
David Gilliland
Aric Almirola
Joe Nemechek
Ricky Stenhouse Jr.
Michael Waltrip
Dave Blaney
Scott Speed
Josh Wise
Trevor Bayne
Ryan Newman
Denny Hamlin
Carl Edwards
Martin Truex Jr.
Michael McDowell
Terry Labonte
Regan Smith
JJ Yeley
David Reutimann
Travis Kvapil


To find out more about Facebook commenting please read the
Conversation Guidelines and FAQs

Leave a Comment