LIVE VIDEO: WTLV Live Video_1    Watch
 
LIVE VIDEO: Good Morning Jacksonville    Watch
 

NFL statement: Result final, Tate should have been flagged

6:28 PM, Sep 25, 2012   |    comments
  • Share
  • Print
  • - A A A +

Photo Gallery: Wild ending to Seahawks-Packers game on Monday Night Football
Seahawks receiver Golden Tate (81) continues to fight for possession with Packers defender M.D. Jennings. Credit: Otto Greule Jr/Getty Images

First Coast News Apps

Get the FCN APPS

- Weather: Android | iPhoneiPad
- News: AndroidiPhone | Mobile Web
- Political Florida: Android | iPhone/iPad
  Windows Phone | Mobile Web

- Deal Chicken: Android | iPhone | Mobile Web

 

Posted by Darin Gantt on September 25, 2012, 12:26 PM EDT, ProFootballTalk.com

The NFL has issued its statement on last night's Packers-Seahawks game, saying that Golden Tate should have been called for pass interference, but the result of the game will not be reversed.

RELATED: NFL says there's 'no provision' for appeal to overturn Seahawks-Packers outcome

From the league's release:

"Seattle quarterback Russell Wilson threw a pass into the end zone.  Several players, including Seattle wide receiver Golden Tate and Green Bay safety M.D. Jennings, jumped into the air in an attempt to catch the ball.

"While the ball is in the air, Tate can be seen shoving Green Bay cornerback Sam Shields to the ground.  This should have been a penalty for offensive pass interference, which would have ended the game.  It was not called and is not reviewable in instant replay.

"When the players hit the ground in the end zone, the officials determined that both Tate and Jennings had possession of the ball.  Under the rule for simultaneous catch, the ball belongs to Tate, the offensive player.  The result of the play was a touchdown.

"Replay Official Howard Slavin stopped the game for an instant replay review.  The aspects of the play that were reviewable included if the ball hit the ground and who had possession of the ball.  In the end zone, a ruling of a simultaneous catch is reviewable.  That is not the case in the field of play, only in the end zone.

"Referee Wayne Elliott determined that no indisputable visual evidence existed to overturn the call on the field, and as a result, the on-field ruling of touchdown stood.  The NFL Officiating Department reviewed the video today and supports the decision not to overturn the on-field ruling following the instant replay review.

"The result of the game is final."

ProFootballTalk.com

Most Watched Videos