Congress gets paid, but who's keeping their paycheck?

(CNN) - While more than 800,000 federal workers, including some congressional staffers, are being furloughed during the government shutdown, members of Congress are still getting paid, as required by law.

But some members of the House and Senate-the very bodies that failed to prevent the shutdown-are giving away their salary in solidarity.

CNN reached out to all 533 current members of Congress about their paycheck plans.

As of Thursday morning, the tally showed 20 senators are donating to charity or the Treasury Department, while four are not accepting a paycheck and two are undecided.

In the House, 31 representatives say they're donating to charity or the Treasury, while 23 are not accepting a paycheck and one is undecided.

Four House members, however, say they're keeping their salary- Rep. Danny Davis, D-Illinois; Rep. Todd Rokita, R-Indiana; Rep. William Clary Jr., Rep. William 'Lacy' Clay, Jr., D-Missouri; Rep. Howard Coble, R-North Carolina.

See the list, which will continue to be updated throughout the day:

Senate (donate):
Barbara Boxer, D-California
Dianne Feinstein, D-California
Mark Udall, D-Colorado
Michael Bennet, D-Colorado
Chris Coons, D-Maryland
Tom Carper, D-Delaware
Brian Schatz, D-Hawaii
Mike Crapo, R-Idaho
Joe Donnelly, D-Indiana
Mary Landrieu, D-Louisiana
Debbie Stabenow, D-Michigan
Tom Udall, D-New Mexico
Heidi Heitkamp, D-North Dakota
John Hoeven, R-North Dakota
Sherrod Brown, D-Ohio
Lindsey Graham, R-South Carolina
Bob Corker, R-Tennessee
Orrin Hatch, R-Utah
Mike Lee, R-Utah
Michael Enzi, R-Wyoming

Senate (not accepting):
Chuck Schumer, D-New York
Jack Reed, D-Rhode Island
Tim Kaine, D-Virginia
Ron Johnson, R-Wisconsin

Senate (undecided):
Jeff Flake, R-Arizona
Roger Wicker, R-Mississippi

House (donate):
Ron Barber, R-Arizona
John Garamendi, D-California
David Valadao, R-California
Julia Brownley, D-California
Scott Peters, D-California
Rosa L. DeLauro, D-Connecticut
Jim Himes, D-Connecticut
Elizabeth Esty, D- Connecticut
Phil Gingrey, R-Georgia
Tulsi Gabbard, D-Hawaii
Bill Foster, D-Illinois
John A. Yarmuth, D-Kentucky
Andy Barr, R-Kentucky
Chellie Pingree, D-Maine
John Delaney, D-Maryland
Timothy J. Walz, D-Minnesota
Ann Wagner, R-Maryland
Chris Collins, R-New York
Robert Pittenger, R-North Carolina
Kurt Schrader, D-Oregon
David Cicilline, D-Rhode Island
Diane Black, R-Tennessee
Bill Flores, R-Texas
Joaquin Castro, D-Texas
Robert J. Wittman, R-Virginia
Scott Rigell, R-Virginia
Suzan DelBene, D-Washington
Jaime Herrera Beutler, R-Washington
Derek Kilmer, D- Washington
Paul Ryan, R-Wisconsin
Reid Ribble, R-Wisconsin

House (keeping):
Danny K. Davis, D-Illinois
Todd Rokita, R-Indiana
William "Lacy" Clay Jr., D-Missouri
Howard Coble, R-North Carolina

House (not accepting):
Mike Rogers, R-Alabama
Eric Swalwell, D-California
Jim Costa, D-California
Steve Southerland, R-Florida
Ron DeSantis, R-Florida
Jack Kingston, R-Georgia
Austin Scott, R-Georgia
David Scott, D- Georgia
Tom Graves, R-Georgia
Brad Schneider, D-Illinois
Cheri Bustos, D-Illinois
Gregg Harper, R-Mississippi
Steve Daines, R-Montana
Tom Reed, R-New York
Virginia Foxx, R-North Carolina
Jim Bridenstine, R-Oklahoma
Mike Kelly, R-Pennsylvania
Ralph M. Hall, R-Texas
Lamar Smith, R-Texas
Blake Farenthold, R-Texas
Bob Goodlatte, R-Virginia
Eric Cantor, R-Virginia
Doc Hastings, R-Washington

House (undecided):
John Campbell, R-California


To find out more about Facebook commenting please read the
Conversation Guidelines and FAQs

Leave a Comment