LIVE VIDEO: WTLV Live Video_1    Watch
 

Facebook scammers are using photo updates emailed directly to users

11:12 AM, Aug 29, 2012   |    comments
  • Share
  • Print
  • - A A A +
  • FILED UNDER

A spreading scam is exposing Facebook users to malware. An email arrives with "One of your Friends added a new photo of you..." and it needs to be ignored.

The jist of the note is that one of your friends added a photo and that you're listed as a close friend. Included is a slick, Facebook-like blue greeting. The click button reads, "View photo with you in the attachment." Yeah, don't be clicking on that.

The Next Web and Sophos report that malware is Troj/Agent-XNN.

Check Facebook Security for any additional measures you can take to protect yourself. Bottom line: don't open attachments unless you know the sender.


NBC BAY AREA, Jason Middleton

Most Watched Videos