Georgia -- The IRS announced Tuesday that affected taxpayers in the counties of Bryan, Camden, Chatham, Glynn, Liberty and McIntosh will receive tax relief.

The declaration permits the IRS to postpone certain deadlines for taxpayers who reside or have a business in the disaster area.

“We encourage Georgians that were affected by Hurricane Matthew, to take the additional time that is needed to file their tax returns during this extended period,” said IRS Spokesman Mark Green. “The IRS wants to assure taxpayers, businesses and tax preparers that it is working aggressively to monitor the situation and provide additional relief as needed,” said Green.

The President has declared that a major disaster exists in the State of Georgia.

In addition, the IRS is waiving the failure-to-deposit penalties for employment and excise tax deposits due on or after October 4, as long as the deposits were made by October 19th, 2016.

The IRS automatically identifies taxpayers located in the covered disaster area and applies automatic filing and payment relief. But affected taxpayers who reside or have a business located outside the covered disaster area must call the IRS disaster hotline at 866-562-5227 to request this tax relief.